A new beginning…

Okay so this is a sort of cryptic title. It refers to the fact that I just started a new job! Working at Synapse Games was awesome, but I’d been there a long time and felt like it was time to move on, so last Monday was my first day at InContext Solutions.

Anyway, despite the whole changing-jobs thing keeping me rather busy, I’ve made decent progress on my first-person rpg. I implemented the code foundation for my game, including generating random dungeon mazes:

Screen Shot 2017-09-26 at 7.55.12 PM

Screen Shot 2017-09-26 at 7.55.18 PM

Screen Shot 2017-09-26 at 7.55.23 PM

Okay, so not terribly impressive looking; that’s just console output of the maze arrays. But it should be fairly straightforward to generate meshes from these grids, so that’s my next task. Then you’ll be able to walk around the dungeons; I’ll put in turn-based combat and that’ll be a playable prototype!

I implemented the very simple algorithm from this resource. If this turns out to be too simple during playtesting then I’ll try this more elaborate algorithm.

Leave a Reply

